Falling Down part 2

#2  The Rizzanesse. Corsica.

Part 2 of the series sees Dave Fairweather talking about his descent of this iconic fall in 2006.

“So, I guess I should man up and go first then.” It was a relief to hear Tom say that; it was looking for a moment there like I might have to resort to cheating at ‘Paper, Scissors, Stone’ again. For a straight forward drop with a run in that couldn’t be easier, there’s something intimidating about this drop, the way the vertical walls on either side close in mess with perspective and give it the impression of being a fair bit taller than its 10 meter height. There are two lines, the traditional line on the right is essentially a seal launch down the rocks, but that’s no way to treat a kayak, the other line is the vertical drop of the left, into water that’s just deep enough. In the interests of public safety, come my turn, I tested this ‘just deep enough’ theory by pencilling as hard as I could into the bottom and then landing on my head. Thankfully the video camera stopped working at precisely this moment. Note: tuck forward to avoid a flat landing, but tuck too early and you’ll land on your head. Don’t try this at home, go to Corsica and try it instead.”

Pic: TP.

2 Comments

Filed under River

2 responses to “Falling Down part 2

  1. Tom Laws

    Carefully avoiding saying that what I actually say is “I’m gonna run it now before I actually shit myself”

  2. Ted Piper

    Again this year boys? It would be rude not to! And it may be our last year for the Rizzanesse.

Leave a comment